was successfully added to your cart.

Mossey, Stapleford and Cooper to Headline Race of the Year

By October 17, 2016 Uncategorized

RST Race of the Year Returns This Weekend!

The RST Race of the Year returns to Mallory Park this weekend, as part of the East Midland Racing Association season finale on Sunday.

Stars from the racing world are set to line up on the grid, eager to lift the coveted RST Race of the Year trophy.  Now in its 49th year, the event has seen many famous names enter the Mallory Park history books as past winners, and this year Luke Mossey, Luke Stapleford, Richard Cooper and 2016 National Superstock 1000cc Champion Taylor Mackenzie will all be vying to add their name to the records, as well as claiming the top £1,000 winners prize fund.

In addition to the winners prize money, Real Motorsport Limited, the management team at the Circuit, have put up a prize fund for the remaining 14 riders to cross the finish line, with £500 paid for 2nd, £250 paid for 3rd and £100 each for the 4th to 15th placed riders.

Other riders who hope to be in with a chance of securing the RST Race of the Year title, and get their hands on a share of the prize money, include Buildbase BMWs Lee Jackson, FS3’s Billy McConnell, and Morello Racings Leon Jeacock, as well as Fraser Rogers, the Truelove brothers Matt and Harry, Phillip Crowe and, reigning RotY champion John ‘The Ram’ Ingram.

Aside from the day’s feature race, there is plenty of other thrilling racing to look forward to, as the East Midland Racing Association (EMRA) bring two of their championships to a climax with the Buildbase Mallory Trophy and the EMRA 500s.  Regrettably, sidecars will no longer feature on the race programme, however this has made way for two exciting non-championship races, for 48cc-450cc single cylinder machines and 250cc two strokes.  Along with an Open Solos and Mini Twins class, there is a full day of racing action planned to end the season on a high before the long winter sets in.

Gates open at 08:30 on Sunday morning, with spectator tickets charged at just £12 on the day.  For more information, please contact the circuit office on 01455 502214.