was successfully added to your cart.

The Race of the Year celebrates 50th milestone with an all-star line-up

By September 12, 2017 Uncategorized

The annual, non-championship motorcycle race event, which celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2017, will once again attract a number of elite riders from the UKs premier racing championships to battle it out at the Leicestershire track on Sunday 22nd October as the Race of the Year returns to Mallory Park Circuit.

The first Race of the Year encouraged crowds of enthusiastic motorcycle racing fans from far and wide to descend upon the Friendly Circuit, where onlookers were treated to an unforgettable race in which the late John Surtees CBE took the top step aboard a 500cc MV Augusta. The Race of the Year has since continued to be a highly significant event in the circuit’s calendar.

The trophy over the years has been attained by many highly prolific riders including Mike Hailwood, John Cooper, Giacomo Agostini, Barry Sheene, Cal Crutchlow, Sam Lowes and more recently Taylor Mackenzie, who not only added his name to the prestigious trophy in 2016 but also set a new lap record with a time of 51.075 seconds on lap 18 of the 1.39 mile circuit.

Alongside Taylor, who will be battling to retain his title, a whole host of names from notable motorcycle racing championships will all be vying to add their name to the record books. Profile Racings Luke Stapleford, Richard Cooper from Bennetts Suzuki, Buildbase Suzuki’s Brad Ray and Alex Olsen, Ridersmotorcyles BMW’s Martin Jessopp and EBC Racing Brakes George Stanley, are all hoping to add their name to distinguished trophy. The Birchall brothers have confirmed they will be battling it out to take the top step of the sidecar Race of the Year at the event, rounding off a hugely successful season for the team. Many more names, alongside the official event sponsor are due to be released in the coming weeks.

The management team at Mallory Park have once again enlisted the expert services of East Midland Racing Association to assist with organising the days racing activities, which will consist of two EMRA championship finals including the Buildbase Mallory Trophy final, the EMRA CB500s final and two non-championship open solo races for 600cc machines, and Mini Twins.  The grids for the Race of the Year and the International Sidecar Race of the Year will be determined by timed practice.

Natalie Hansard, for Real Motorsport Limited says: “We are really pleased that the Race of the Year will once again return to Mallory Park and this year celebrate its 50th anniversary. The event is steeped in history, which is continuing to grow and we are pleased that interest in the event is growing year on year. Many talented riders from renowned racing championships have already signed up to take part, with talks continuing with many others which hopefully we will be able to announce in the coming weeks”.

Entries for this event are now open, and we would encourage you to complete and return it to EMRA as soon as possible to secure your place on the grid! Spectator tickets are available from the Mallory Park website, malloryparkcircuit.com